Are Cashews Gluten Free : Here are The Facts You Must Know!

Are cashews gluten free ? before you get the answer and we discuss deeper whether or not cashews are gluten free, it is indeed best for us to know about the cashew itself and what benefits that it brings to our body.

  1. What are the benefits of cashews?

Cashews are also popularly known for its cashew nut. The bright red color that cashews have along with the green colored of its cashew nuts in the bottom make this fruit become easily noticed. The taste of this fruit is not really sweet and a little bit sour. However, there are many people, especially kids, choose this fruit as their favorite fruit.

Not only popularly known for cashew nut, cashews are also well known for its benefits for the body’s health. This fruit contains quite many calories, phosphor, calcium, water, vitamin A, vitamin C, iron, carbohydrate, fats, and protein. All of these contents make cashews worth to consume. Here are the lists of benefits of cashews for your body’s health.

  1. Are cashew nuts gluten free?

Before we get the answer about cashews are they gluten free, how much do you know about gluten? Actually, gluten itself is not a special nutrition. Half of the seed foods with vitamin and mineral contain gluten. For those of you who haven’t known much about gluten, it is a kind of protein contained in regular wheat, triticale wheat, and barley.

If you see snacks or other kinds of food that has “gluten-free” mentioned on the package means that the product has gluten-free. Gluten-free foods are aimed at those who have celiac diseases or those who are intolerant towards gluten. Thus, how about eating the foods with gluten free, while you are not suffering from those two diseases? For those of you who do not have celiac disease nor gluten intolerance, in fact, consuming foods with gluten free will not give you any additional benefits compared to eating foods with gluten.

According to the latest scientific journal published, food that contains solid seeds has more benefits to lower the risk of having heart disease and diabetes. Some of the foods that contain gluten are including wheat, cereal, pasta, bread. Salad sauce, black wheat, several types of beers, oat that doesn’t have gluten-free information on the package and barley.

So, are cashews nuts gluten free? cashew nuts are naturally gluten free. However, it can not be denied that during the process, this natural content would be mixed with other contents, means that the food is very potential to have gluten substances added.

Therefore, the safest way for you when you want to start cashews gluten free diet program, then the first thing you must do is by buying the cashews related product food that has gluten free label on the package. This step is for you to make sure are cashews nuts gluten free or not, even though the main ingredients are actually gluten free, that further helps you to get along your gluten free diet runs well.

Gluten-Free Guidance: Is Couscous Gluten Free?

There are two types of answers for the is couscous gluten free? question: the short answer and the long answer.

The short answer is: no, it is not gluten free, and if you are in a gluten free diet, you would do well to avoid couscous altogether.

The long answer is a bit more complex compared to the short answer because there are certain things that one should consider before saying that ALL couscous is not free of gluten. This article today will talk about couscous and about the long answer that surrounds the question ‘is couscous gluten free?’ 

  • It should not be, because…

As we all know, there are three things that contain gluten in it: barley, wheat, and rye. These things got gluten all over them, making them a prime ingredient to avoid if you want to be rid of gluten. Because couscous is often made of durum WHEAT, couscous is not gluten free at all.

You cannot find many shops that will serve you a couscous gluten free diet menu or whatever because couscous is naturally not a gluten free food. Sure you can find them, but only if you look hard for them, and even then not all of them are readily available in many cities.

There you have it folks, couscous is not gluten free and it should not be because without wheat, it will not be a couscous.

  • Do not give up hope, though…

Because there is a couscous gluten free alternative that you can try if you insist on eating couscous even though you cannot stand gluten at all. Sure they will not have the same taste as couscous and they will not have that specific ‘mouth feel’ that a normal couscous can provide, but at the very least you can eat couscous, right?

Introducing a couscous gluten free recipe that you can make if you want to avoid gluten in couscous:  the brown rice couscous. Brown rice has the same texture and shape as durum wheat, hence the reason why those looking for an alternative to ordinary couscous will often find consolation within the warm embrace of a brown rice couscous. It does not taste as good as the usual couscous, but it is much healthier. 

  • Can you give me one recipe that I can make using a brown rice couscous?

Sure I can. Check out this recipe for a brown rice couscous salad I got with me:

To make this one, you will need to have a few things. The brown rice couscous is a must, obviously, and the other you can get within your local market. Aside from the couscous itself, you need to have a cup of chicken stock, half a cup of olive oil, 2 teaspoons of agave nectar, one and a half tablespoons of cider vinegar, kosher salt, lemon juice, freshly ground pepper, chickpeas, pine nuts, prunes, apricots, basil, and parsley.

Making them is pretty easy. Just boil the stock and cook the couscous in it. Cool it down, and while it is cooling, you mix the other ingredients to make the dressing. When everything is done, just throw the cooked ingredients together and you have yourself a nice brown rice couscous that is both healthy and gluten free. Best served cold or on the same temperature as the room you are in.

I think that is all about couscous. I hope I can answer your question regarding is couscous gluten free? question.

Fries Facts: Are French Fries Gluten-Free?

For some of you out there who are trying to go on a gluten-free diet, there are questions that all of you need to know the answer of: are French fries gluten-free? All of us know that French fries are one of the most comforting comfort foods ever. You can eat it as it is, you can eat it with ketchup, you can it eat it with peanut butter, and you can also eat it with mayo. French fries is such an adaptive food that you can eat both sweet and savoury. They are also made of potatoes, the food that has saved Europe a few centuries ago. They are a good food that everybody can enjoy, no matter what their food preferences are.

Now let us get back to the question, shall we? French fries is a food made of potatoes, and potatoes are naturally gluten-free, right? For that reason, we can believe that French fries do not contain gluten in it, right?

Wrong.

While you are not entirely wrong in thinking that they are no trace of gluten within potatoes, French fries are a different matter. Sure there is no gluten within potatoes, but the presence of gluten within French fries depends on lots of factors. What are those factors? 

  • The way you fry them

Let me tell you this: every kitchen utensils and appliance in this world are gluten-free. They are free of gluten and other things that may be dangerous for those with celiac disease. You can safely cook using those utensils if you want to avoid gluten.

At least it is safe until you use those particular utensils to cook stuff containing gluten in it.

After you have cooked something that contains gluten in it, your utensil will be riddled with gluten all over it. If you cook your fries using those particular utensils, your fries will not be gluten-free 

  • The way you batter them

People often eat French fries as they are. They cut potatoes into matchsticks, wash them, dry them, throw them into the fryer, drain the excess oil, and eat them. However, some people love to put batter unto their fries (as if the carbs within the fries alone was not enough!). If you put any kind of batter in your fries, your fries are definitely NOT gluten-free. A batter usually requires a good amount of flour within it, and we all know that flour is never gluten-free unless said otherwise. 

  • If you love French fries in fast food restaurants, I can recommend you some

Perhaps you have been asking yourself a few of these questions: ‘are Mcdonalds French fries gluten-free?’ Or ‘are burger king’s French fries gluten-free?’ and you are right to have asked those question. In this age, everything needs to be fast because the world and time will not stop for you. Even people who cannot tolerate gluten needs to be fast as well. You need to eat food fast, and the only place you can get and eat food fast is in fast food restaurants.

There is something that you anti-gluten guys need to know before you go on ahead to your nearest fast food restaurant and order a French fries. To be honest, although many chain restaurants have a gluten-free menu, their French fries are often not gluten-free.  That is why if you want to avoid gluten, you need to avoid ordering French fries on fast food restaurants. 

  • Are store-bought French fries gluten-free?

That depends, of course. Some French fries have the gluten-free symbol on them, and you can be sure that those French fries will be gluten-free provided you do not cook them on a gluten stained appliances. 

  • Are French fries wheat free?

Of course, they are, what the heck with that question?

If you mean that there are a few brands of French fries that contain wheat in them, sure those brands exist. But the brands will often put out a warning first because if you do not do them, the company who owned the brand can get a lawsuit. This is even more possible if you live in the United States of America, where joking about something that can trigger some people can land you a lawsuit.

I hope these answers answer your ‘are French fries gluten-free’ question, fellas.